I grew up in the 90’s

16 Feb

I am bored!  I am not complaining that I am bored, I’m just merely mentioning.  It’s that time of year again when all the kids and teachers are on vacation.  But because I am a contract worker for the Korean government I get to deskwarm!  In order not to loose my mind am keeping myself busy.

I got an email with the title “you know you grew up in the 90’s if …” and I immediately thought it is one of those annoying emails where you had to send it to 15 people and then you will go to heaven or something.  But as I read the email I felt very nostalgic about my childhood, and it reminded me of a world that does not exist anymore.  Yes I’m a tad melodramatic and even thought the 90.s only ended 10 years ago, so much has changed!

So I will highlight some of my favorite parts of the email and what it was like growing up in the 90’s!

YOU KNOW YOU GREW UP IN THE 90’S IF:

You remember collecting Tazo’s

I sure can.  During break time at primary school we went nuts with these.  You only got one in a packet of chips and I knew there are some kids that had like hundred!  I was in awe of them!

You remember watching Kiddeo, Pumpkin Patch and Zet.

Kideo

 

 

You remember 95 Rugby World cup slammers

 

You remember when it was actually worth getting up early on a Saturday to watch cartoons

In the days before cartoon network came to our shores we only had M-net.  And KTV’s saturday morning cartoons were the best!

You remember reading Goosebumps!

Sure do, I think I read all of them!

 

If you ever got a Zoo Biscuit in your lunch box!

Not only Zoo Biscuits but also bite size super C’s or Melrose cheese!

If you listened to the radio all day long just to record your favorite song:

We are definitely the last generation to use these!  I can remember a time before mp3’s and Cd’s took over.  I still had an original Walkman!

If you ever watched Full House or The Dinosaurs TV show:

 

You knew that Kimberley, the pink power ranger, and Tommy, the green power ranger, were meant to be together.

 

my favorite was always Jason the red one!

You remember holy moleys

If you haven’t always had a computer, and it was cool to have internet.  Windows 95 was the best:

 

We only got a computer in 96 and maybe internet only after the millennium turned!

 

Sesame street was actually Sesame street and not Takalani Sesame:

I don’t think I have ever watched Takelani, but i sure kan remember Sesamie!

If you know all Roxette songs!

If you collected trolls:

I don’t know if I collected them but I know my sisters and I had a few of them!

 

You know the Macarena:

Still do!

If you ever danced to Sexy Eyes:

This was one of the biggest songs in South Africa.  Every single teenager knew the word and whenever it came up spontaneously burst into dancing!  Brings back great memories especially the awkward school dances!

Growing up in the 90’s was super awesome and even though I would have preferred to have grown up in the 80’s, the 90’s in my eyes can be seen as the last simple generation.  We grew up without Facebook and internet and even cellphones.  TV was just becoming main stream in South Africa.  We still had a normal childhood!  Those were the days!

Cheers from Kimchiland!

One Response to “I grew up in the 90’s”

  1. karliendupreez February 17, 2011 at 01:22 #

    Jaaaaaa!!!!!!!! I grew up then!!! Awww…I tick all the boxes. How I miss K-TV. Something for the girls…my little Ponie…. Oh and Carebears! Thing is, I rented carebears the other day…there is a reason childhood memories should stay childhood memories…

Leave a Reply

