2010 – My year in review!

31 Dec

Wow, it’s the last day of the year.  It is now exactly 3:01 PM (Korean time) and I am still at work.  Even though there are no kids am I expected to sit here and deskwarm!  not the ideal place to be on New Years Eve but what can you do.  It’s crazy to think that another year has passed, so quickly, as if time is on fast forward or something.  But this is not only just the end of a year but also the end of a decade.  The first decade of the new millennium.  2010.  What a symbol those four number have been!  How much they represented.  How many stories can they tell.  2010 was all in all a great year.  I started my first real full time job (in another country).  I am glad that I only have two months left at this job because to be honest I really dislike teaching.  That could a new years resolution – find a job that you enjoy!

This year started off great.  I counted in 2010 on a Namibian beach with a bottle of bubbly in my hands!  Then shortly after that I ventured up to Mozambique and had a great time there.  I wrote my final honors exams and passed (phew) and thus go my honors degree in Information Science.    The next adventure was the much anticipated journey to Kimchiland.  It was a shock!  A big one!  It took me a while to adjust to life here in Kimchiland and to be honest i don’t think i will ever be able to fully adjust.  My Korean chapter started off with a horror story.  The first 4 months I just wanted to pack up and go.  But that’s Korea for you, so much of your experience here is out of your controll.  Your school, co teacher, apartment, area, all of that plays a big p[art in how you will experience this country.  Even though I got screwed over with most of the above mentioned, I still managed to have a great time.  In the end the possitive over shadows the negative.  I made some amazing new friends from all around the globe.  I learned so many things about myself and how to cope with certain things.

I also got the opportunity to travel to Thailand and China which was great.  I have experienced the hottest, most huid, most uncomfortable summer of my entire life.  I saw snow and plenty of it!  this is great.  But this is also the coldest place I have ever lived.  I can not believe that place can have such extreme climates.   This was also the first time in my life that I lived in a place that is under constant threat of attack.  Where military and evacuation drills are part of daily life. This is all a bit strange.  I learned that you do not have to speak a language to survive in another country.  It’s amazing how much you can accomplish without the language, but is the same breath it’s amazing how much frustration the language barrier brings.

2010 Was a good year that I will cherish forever.  It was my Korea year and I will think back on this year with great memories.  It’s imposible to name good thing I experienced this year, but I know that I have grown as a person and I have learned so much about myself and what I am capable of!

Good bey 2010!  Cheers from Kimchiland, see you guys next year!

Leave a Reply

