Korea, oh Korea!

11 Nov

This is just another one of those weeks.  Where everything is just too much!  And it’s times like these that Korea work on my nerves more than ever.  The kids running wild in the teachers office seem to give me instant hard-burn as opposed to just hot flushes!  Students completely and utterly ignoring and disrespecting their teacher makes me want to drown my sorrows.  And lastly patriotic ignorance makes me want to hurt someone, hurt someone real bad!

This week I am doing a travel and tourism lesson with my second graders.  I start the lesson off by showing them a five minute tourism promotional video from South Africa highlighting all the major tourist destinations and activities.  The students have to write down everything that they see.  After the video I discuss all the relevant terms with them so that they have a clear understanding of travel and tourism.  But then the bomb drops.  The creme de la cream of blatant ignorance reveals itself.  I ask the students to list the top 10 tourist destinations in Korea.  I mean how hard can it be.  80% of all the students list Kimchi as the number 1 tourist destination.  Are you kidding me.  How stupid can you be??!!  I don’t think I have ever been as close to a nervous breakdown as this week!  First of all who lists food as a destination and secondly Kimchi will make more people (tourists) leave Korea!  Their patriotic nationalist ignorance has reached a new level!

Apart from being completely Kimchi’d out at school this week brought with it a ONE WAY ticket back home.  It feels great to know that this year is slowly coming to an end.  We are flying via Singapore and Singapore airlines has this nifty deal where you can add 2 free stopovers within a three month period.  So we decided to make use of it!  We are planning to visit both Singapore and Bali after our contracts and then finally fly back to Johannesburg!  Exciting times lay ahead!

(Geez, if this woman coughs on me one more time I am going to grab her by the throat, cover your f*ing mouth!)

Cheers from Kimchiland!

Leave a Reply

