5 Months down!

19 Jul

5 Months ago i thought things would be different by now.  I don’t know why but I have never in my life struggled this much to adapt to something.  I am trying to swim as hard as I can it the shitty muddy waters that is Korea.  And just when I think i’ve got the hang of it i’m being sucked in forcing me to gulp in Korean poison.  Okay maybe I’m a bit melodramatic but sometimes it just gets to me!  Don’t get me wrong I’ve had some truly memorable experiences here in Kimchiland but it is just as if everything regarding my school is plain shit!  Yes not all NET’s have great schools and some schools work NET’s into the ground.  But you see I wouldn’t mind working my ass off because at least I would be paid overtime.  But nope I work the minimum hours and have to sit on my ass most of the time doing squat.

It’s the summer school holidays here in Korea and Korean kids attend summer school.  Summer school are basically just extra classes in any subject.  Students attend voluntarily and their parents have to pay extra!  Almost all schools across Daegu host summer camps and they average to about 4 days each.  Schools then employ NET’s from other schools to help out.  This means that many NET’s will be teaching at other schools for the next two weeks and being paid extra for it.  Yes that’s right if you are invited to teach at another school you are paid extra.  Also you are paid for every worksheet that you produce.   I was looking forward to getting a change of scenery, if only for 4 days.  BUT NO!  Do not think for one second my @#$%%$%&$#$$ school will allow me to go anywhere else.  Nope they booked me for the whole two week period.  Thats right I have to teach 4 hours a day at my school for the next two weeks.  I have 16 grade 1 middle school students and 5 grade 2 middle school students.  Thus meaning that I will not earn any extra cash during this time.  NADA! The reason why I am so annoyed is because today i decided to come in early to finish off last minute camp things.  I arrived half an hour early at 8 am.  There was absolutely no none at school.  The office was locked and I couldn’t find anyone.  At 8.25 the first teacher arrived.  I was so annoyed!!!!  Going to school early for nothing.    My first hour and a half with the first graders went great.  I had fun and so did they.  But when only 3 second graders showed up for the next hour and a half I was furious.  What a colossal waste of my time and energy!  Because only one of the girls actually understood me!  What is the point I ask you! So i finished my lesson within the fist 40 minutes and had suck stuff out of my thumb for them to do for the next 45 minutes.  And then there are people who get like 200 000 won per day!  At 12.30 I finished my first day of Summer school and now I am supposed to sit here until 4.30pm.   I have absolutely nothing to do.  NOTHING.

Let me be blunt.  KOREAN WORK ETHIC IS FUCKED UP!

cheers from >stupid< kimchiland!

4 Responses to “5 Months down!”

  1. GRRRL TRAVELER July 19, 2010 at 13:37 #

    Wow– I forgot about that. The additional camps mean extra pay and the camp we do at our school is under salary! It sucks that they not only monopolized you but that they gave you the 4 hr teaching day limit so that they wouldn’t have to pay you OT. Are you the only NET or are there others appointed to your school?

  2. christodewit July 19, 2010 at 13:44 #

    Nope I am the only NET at my school and camps! As if my stingy school would ever employ anyone else! I am slowly starting to reach a point where I am not sure if I will be able to take much more of the crap they throw at me!

    • Jackie July 19, 2010 at 20:42 #

      What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger… (oh…I know)

  3. Hawk July 20, 2010 at 17:56 #

    Aargh! That is so annoying. It is supposed to get better but somehow it never does. I sometimes felt like they must actually be trying to find creative new ways to screw with the foreig teachers. Hope it doesn’t spoil the amazing bits but it definitely sucks!

Leave a Reply

