When shit happens . . .

1 Apr

When I had my coffee this morning, I felt good.  I convinced myself that no more grumpyness about freakishly naughty middle schoolers.  The reason for this was probably the fact that this past week I have been down in the dumps a bit.  No w with good reason I might add!  My apartment sucks, not because its smaller than a shoebox, but due to recent developments.  As mentioned previously I got stuck with the mold.  As this was my first encounter with the yucky stuff, I kinda did not know what to do about it.  My dear friend, Google came to the rescue.  That shit is bad!  I mean have you seen the microscope pictures of it, nasty!  So this past week I was under the impression my school was on the lookout for a new apartment.  I haven’t heard anything about the whole situation since Monday, so I thought they were looking for a place.  Turns out they weren’t.  My co-teacher informed me earlier today that the head administrative officer (HAO) of our school had JUST spoken to the real estate agent about the problems in my apartment.  JUST!  So she said the 4 of us will go to my apartment at 1pm to check it out.  The 4 being myself, my co-teacher, one or other admin lady and the HAO.  We entered the dodgy Korean Alley and as we entered my apartment it wasn’t long before the real estate agent was there too.  So they discussed my problem, with me just standing there like the village idiot.  When I revealed the mold they all gasped!  I know! Then after much Korean (which probably translates into two or three sentences in English) they asked what other problems I have.  I told them about all the noises and the real estate agent said well there is nothing that can be done about that because I live in a room so obviously I will hear everything.  Then I switched on my heating and then the noises came.  The noises comes and goes every no and again.  It wakes me every time!  They shrugged their shoulders and said its normal.  At this point I was feeling a hell of a lot of emotions simultaneously and causing me to cross the line a bit.  I immediately said no its not normal, because two other people who have the same heating system as do not hear such noises.  I mean jeepers!  So they concluded they will not be able to find me another apartment because the school signed a 1 year contract with the real estate agent and if they cancel they will have to pay penalties of 300 000 Won!  Not my freaking problem.  I have complained about the noise over and over again and nada!  Now the mold!  Oh, they said they will come and fix the mold by applying new wallpaper!  They’re just gonna cover it up!  When I heard that I flipped.  My lips were shaking.  We, as foreigners have to do this and have to do that, but they do not even have the common decency to assure quality living conditions.  Bull shit!  This is not right, and don’t give me any of that “dynamic Korea” crap.  Some things are acceptable and some things I ca tolerate.  I cam here to have a wonderful experience and to explore.  So far it has been amazing, but this whole apartment saga might just spoil everything.  Oh and while they are reapplying the wallpaper they said I should go and live somewhere else.  No luckily I can stay with Nicola, but I mean just like that.  Find somewhere else to stay – we are not going to help you!

I don’t know what to do or say anymore!

3 Responses to “When shit happens . . .”

  1. Amanda April 1, 2010 at 14:33 #

    o.m.g. christo i am sooooo sorry you are having so much trouble! It sounds horrible! Please know that I will help you with anything you need! Not that i’m much help, but whatever I can do!!!!!

    • christodewit April 1, 2010 at 15:37 #

      Thanks Amanda, I’ll cope! I just needed to get it out of my system, and seeing I am at school with no one to talk to my blog was the outlet! I’m sure everything will be sorted!

  2. kaalvoetinireen April 1, 2010 at 20:33 #

    Hope you get everything sorted out. This is just the way they opperate and in the end you get used to it and just accept it.

Leave a comment